Is it Justice?
We’ve seen this drama before. Some madman kills an innocent family, and after he is arrested, but before he is brought to trial, a surviving family member executes him.  This new killer is brought up on murder charges, but the jury disregards the facts, agrees it’s temporary insanity, and allows the grieving father or brother or whatever – who is truthfully no threat to society – to go home. The jury ignores the law and settles for vigilante justice.  Most are fine with this resolution, but if we are to live in a society of laws, can we really tolerate it?
That brings me to this month’s column. I went to the Summer NABC’s in Philadelphia in July, and entered as many Nationally rated events as I could.  National events are always at least 4 session, 2-day affairs, and you always have to qualify to play the next day – usually by finishing a bit over average in the qualifying round(s).  I had played in 3 events and had missed the cutoff by a small margin each time. Saturday was my final chance to make it to the finals in a very tough event: The Open Swiss Teams.  Of the 16 teams we competed against, I’d estimate at least 10 of them were playing the Multi 2D convention (but that is a topic for perhaps another column). After the first session, we were about average, so we needed a few good things to happen in our final 4 matches.  It seemed we got our wish on board #6 of our fifth match:
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My partner and I had hadn’t really played much before this tournament, and we had made several agreements at the beginning of the week. One of the last had been to play the MATHE convention: (over a precision 1C, Dbl shows both majors, 1NT shows both minors, all other bids are natural).  When his LHO opened 1C, my partner didn’t realize that his 2C bid was natural, instead believing we played it the same as we would over a natural 1C opener. Logically, I wanted to jam the auction as high as possible, (giving them room to stop short of slam).  East reasoned her partner had at most 1 club, and bid what she thought they could make.  When the smoke cleared, EW were -500, and not very happy.  To no one’s surprise, the director was called.
As a director myself, I thought we would be okay, since there is no rule that punishes a mistaken call. I calmly explained to the director that my partner had forgotten our agreement (to play MATHE), and that I had made my call on the presumption that he held a club suit.  The director nodded, and appeared ready to explain to the opponents there was nothing he could do – after all, mistakes happen.
Things took a dark turn when it was discovered that I had failed to write “MATHE” on our convention card. Worse still, my partner, who had re-written his entire card the previous day, (incorporating a handful of small changes) hadn’t written it down either.  While no one doubted that we had made the agreement to play this convention, in this type of situation, the director isn’t allowed to simply take our word for it.  According to Law 21B 1(b): The Director is to presume mistaken explanation rather than mistaken call in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
This line in the rulebook had devastating consequences. Since there was no evidence to the contrary, the Director was required to rule that our partnership agreement must be that the 2C call showed Spades and a red suit. This interpretation necessitated that my failure to alert 2C constituted misinformation. If you’re getting confused right about now, you have company. While cue-bids by definition are generally not alertable, a 2C overcall over a strong artificial 1C is natural unless alerted otherwise. 
Misinformation is a nasty business. Law 21B (3) requires that when the non-offending side is damaged due to the misinformation, (duh), the director must award an adjusted score. It was two rounds later before the ruling came down, but it was decided (after consulting several competent players), that had I alerted the opponents that 2C showed spades and a red suit (and then subsequently bid 5C!), that the final contract would most likely have been 5Sx by South. The directors showed a degree of mercy in not allowing the defense the optimum lead of a trump, but still predicted that the likely table result would have been -1100.  Our teammates went -100 on that board, so we went from +9 IMPs to -15 IMPs  –  a 24 IMP swing! Instead of winning 20 Victory Pts, we only won 14, a huge loss.
At the end of the day, we missed qualifying by a mere 2 Victory Points. We decided to take this result to committee, hoping that perhaps the severity of the adjustment could be reduced. This is a multi-step process. First, the Director-in-Charge must obtain all pertinent facts and write up an appeal form. He graciously did this for us, but advised us that we were likely wasting our time – although we had every right to appeal if we wished.
Our next stop was with the Screening Director. His job is to review the facts of the appeal and advise whether or not the appeal has merit. He also presents the facts to the committee if the appeal moves forward.  After reviewing our file, he advised us that he saw no case whatsoever. In fact, he warned that the committee would likely determine that a trump lead by the defense was obvious and indicated and that the table result might easily be further adjusted from

-1100 to -1700.  Perhaps recklessly, we opted to proceed.
The other team had failed to qualify by a considerable margin, and did not show up to contest the appeal. Still, the Screening Director presented their side professionally, pointing out the applicable laws and interpretations on which the decisions were based. I asked them to recognize that my partner’s bid was NOT our partnership agreement, but simply a misbid. I acknowledged that the Director’s ruling was proper and required, but that they had the power to restore some justice to the situation, interpreting that misinformation had not occurred. Basically I was asking them to ignore the law and go rogue.

I thanked them for their time and left them to deliberate, fairly convinced that I would be called back in within 30 seconds to be given the bad news. To my astonishment, they discussed this for over 15 minutes. When I returned, I was told that our misunderstanding clearly injured the opponents. I was admonished for being in a National Event and not having a clear agreement with my partner about our methods for such a relatively common sequence. That said, they agreed that partner’s bid was the error, and not my failure to alert it. This meant that there was no misinformation and they reinstated the result at the table: +500 NS. As a slightest of slaps on the wrist, we were given a 1VP procedural penalty for not knowing our partnership methods.  Our team qualified to play in the finals.
You’d think I’d be happy about this. Initially I was, but time has cast a shadow over the experience.  In my nearly 30 years playing this game, I’ve gone to committee on a few occasions. Most often, it hasn’t gone my way, and on occasion I’ve held the belief that the more prestigious player had been given preferential treatment.  While this undoubtedly happens, most committees do an admirable job of fairly administering and interpreting the law. I take some comfort in believing that although the punishment might sometimes outweigh the crime, that the law does not discriminate.
I was guilty – dead to rights.  I broke the law and asked my jury to let me go free.  I didn’t intentionally do anything wrong, and I was no longer a threat to society, but if we are to be a nation of laws, I should have had to do my time. The next player brought up on similar charges, might righteously complain that Wimpy got away with it and thus so should he.  I have no answer for this – but truthfully, had I been on the committee, I would have voted to convict. 
