Winning With Wimpy

Hesitations are a dirty business. The call every director cringes to hear is the one where somebody hesitated. The Laws concerning hesitations are vague, yet surprisingly clear:  If your partner breaks tempo and you have a choice of reasonable calls, you are not allowed to choose one that the pause might suggest could work out better.  Naturally, in most situations, it falls to the director to determine whether or not an alternative choice is reasonable. Reasonable is defined as a "significant minority" (25 – 30%) might choose it. Here's an example from a recent club game: 
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Nobody Vul, West opened 1D and North made a 
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takeout double.  A contested auction ensued with N-S 


( Q842



competing in spades and E-W in diamonds. When 
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South eventually competed to 3S, West paused to think,

( AQ86



presumably about doubling, then (sensibly) passed.
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I was called immediately, (the proper procedure - you 
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shouldn't wait to see if East later chooses to bid), and 
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warned East that he may no longer be able to choose 
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among reasonable alternatives. This did not mean that 
( J1094
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East was forced to pass, just that any action he took
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would need to be fairly clearly indicated from his own 



( 7542



hand.
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East chose to bid 4D, which got doubled and went down 500. This may seem unlucky, but one must understand that nothing good could have happened. Suppose 4D was the winning call and it makes (or only goes down one). In that case I would have been forced to determine whether East had a reasonable "less profitable" action. I felt that "pass" was a reasonable alternative (proven by the -500 table result), and would have adjusted the score back to 3S N-S. That is, of course, unless 3S was likely to go down, in which case 4Dx, off one, would be the table result. The point I'm trying to make is that after a break in tempo, nothing good can happen. If something bad happens, you will be stuck with it.  If something good happens, it will be taken away. Therefore, unless your action is very clear, you should almost always pass and hope for the best.
Most inexperienced players don't really understand this very well, and it frustrates them. I've even seen people quit the game in disgust, believing they were robbed of an earned result. You need to stop thinking this way. The penalties are harsh, but necessary. It's nearly impossible NOT to let a hesitation influence your play - and it's just wrong. 

Consider a club game I played in last week. My LHO opened 1C (alerted as possibly short) and my partner overcalled 1NT. With a minimum hand I passed, and LHO hesitated a bit before passing as well. What could LHO have been thinking about? Once you realize that ANY action he took would have indicated a decent long club suit, you will see my point. RHO certainly had no problem leading the (10 from Ten-doubleton, finding his partner with (KQJxx. 
Perhaps LHO would have led a club anyway, partner did open a club after all. However, in my experience, pairs that play a short club generally lead their best suit, especially when the opponents have suggested some club strength, and they have some side suit values (which this person did).  It's subtle, and neither of my opponents made any conscious attempt to cheat. That doesn't change the fact that there was a tangible irregularity, and my partner and I were possibly damaged. I could have exercised my right to call the director after the pause, and a strong director might have barred a club lead, but I've found this type of protest to be more trouble than it's worth. In the final analysis, it only causes hard feelings, and simply makes the game more unpleasant than it needs to be.
This brings me back to the hand I discussed last column.  In first chair you open 1NT (15-17)  holding  ( K83 ( KQ5 ( A74 ( AT65  and the auction proceeds as follows:
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Last time, I wrote about how there was a lot of evidence suggesting the best action here is to pass.  While bidding 3H could work out right, it could also be a disaster if partner turns up broke. 

What I didn't mention is that I played this hand a few months ago, but I was West. I also didn't mention that North made a very slow pass over my 3D bid. I should have called the director immediately (if I was going to call at all), but eventually chose to do so when South elected to compete to 3H. Now I've taken a bit of literary license in reconstructing this hand. South actually held the ACE rather than the KING of Spades, and the FOUR of Diamonds was actually a small fifth club. Despite the fact that these two changes make competing considerably more attractive, I believe that "pass" is still a reasonable alternative. Clearly, partner's break in tempo makes bidding 3H an overwhelmingly attractive option, and that's precisely why I would have barred it.
I'm a bit ashamed that I called, (for the same reasons I discussed earlier) but having done so, I expected protection.  The director ruled that 3H was not only reasonable, but in fact, it was the same call he would have made holding that hand. I hope by now that you all realize that it doesn't matter whether a call is reasonable or not after a break in tempo. All other alternatives must be unreasonable, or it's simply not allowed. For the record, I'm satisfied that this director made the right call for his own club, but you should expect that in a tournament or a higher level game that it would have gone the other way.  Do your best to make all bids in tempo. It puts a lot less pressure on partner. 
