WINNING WITH WIMPY

Both Vul, Matchpoints.  In first seat, you pick up ( K83 ( KQ5 ( A74 ( AT65.  You elect to open 1NT 
(15-17) and the auction proceeds as follows:

South (you)   West
      North
  East
1NT
             Pass
        2(*
   Dbl


*  Transfer
 2(

   3(
       Pass
   Pass

 ??

What is your call? I’ll bet I can guess. Before I guess, I need to know if (A) you are an expert or (B) you are not.  If you answered (B), I’m predicting you bid 3H. If you answered (A), I’m betting you passed. Incredible, right?
This one was fairly easy to predict, because non-expert players have not yet learned how to listen to their partner. They can consistently be expected to make decisions that shouldn’t be theirs to make.  Let’s break down this hand.

North has 5 hearts. That’s all we know about his hand. North knows considerably more about our hand than we know about his. He knows our strength to within 2 hcp. He knows we have at least 3 hearts. He knows we have no singletons or voids. North thinks we should defend 3 Diamonds.  Why would you overrule him?  

Ok, wait. How did North know those things, and when did he say them?  Let’s look back. Any time Responder makes a transfer bid and the next seat doubles, Opener has a choice. He can either accept the transfer (bidding the indicated suit) or he can pass – declining the transfer. Additionally, he could bid a new suit – which should be some type of super-acceptance – but that is a topic for another column. If you and your partner haven’t discussed the difference between bidding and passing, you will be ill-equipped to make the best decisions when the opponents interfere. 
At the simplest, most pairs agree that after a conventional transfer bid is doubled, if Opener accepts the transfer anyway, he promises at least 3 cards in the transfer suit. With only two cards in the suit, Opener passes. This can be crucial information for critical decisions later in the hand.  Of course, with a weak hand, the Responder may now end up being the declarer. Can this wrong-side the contract?  Quite unlikely.  In fact, forcing the doubler on opening lead might actually end up gaining a trick, especially if your hand has an honor in LHO’s suit and he chooses to lead it. The important thing is to have an understanding about what it means to bid and what it means to pass when a transfer gets doubled. 
What if LHO makes a bid (forcing us up a level if we want to compete)? This is quite a different situation. Once again, Responder knows far more about our hand than we know about his. Responder knows our strength to within two points, and unless he holds exactly 4-5 pts, he will have a good idea who holds the balance of power. It should be partner’s responsibility to decide whether to compete further.  Let's look at a few simple examples:
South     West       North (you)     East
1NT
     Pass
 2(*
     
   3(


*  Transfer

Pass
     Pass
  ??
   

a)  ( 865 
( QJ754 
( J84 
( Q8

b)  ( K85 
( KJ852
( QT6 
( 74
c)  ( K85 
( QJ754 
( 65

( A64
d)  ( 8 
( J9853 
( KQ6
( AQ83
e)  ( 65 
( KQ8743 
( 75

( JT4
f)  ( K8
( KQ874 
( QT752
( 6

Before we can truly know what to do in these situations, we need to know what partner's pass over 3( meant. I would strongly recommend that you make the agreement with partner, that whenever you transfer to a major, that the opening 1NT bidder will not sell out below three of that major when holding at least 4 card support.  Therefore, in this case, we can interpret South's pass to say that he does NOT hold 4 hearts. 
Once again, North knows far more about South's hand than the other way around. North's responsibility is to let his partner know how many hearts he holds, and whether or not he wants to play in part-score or game.  Holding about 7-8 pts or more, passing will be a losing proposition. Your side holds the balance of power, and allowing the opponents to play undoubled will yield significantly poor results over the long run.
a)  Pass. The high cards are likely fairly evenly divided. Your side has at most 8 hearts. Defend and hope to go plus.

b)  Double. this is a balance of power double. It does NOT promise good clubs. With 3 hearts and weak clubs, opener often pulls to 3 hearts, or could even possibly bid a 5 card suit of his own. Often partner will pass. 
c)  Double.  Partner will probably pull this, but if he can find a pass, it should prove very profitable.

d)  3NT. You know where to play this hand. Don't give partner the choice to play somewhere else.
e)  3H. This is NOT invitational. Partner is expected to pass. 

f)  3D.  Not 100% game forcing, (some might argue otherwise) but partner can't pass. Make the most descriptive  bid whenever possible. 

I didn't create this hand at random. A very similar holding came up at a club game recently.  Next issue I will discuss why I received a questionable ruling over it, and the misconceptions many players have about their rights when partner breaks tempo. 
