Second Hand Play (Part III)
III. Some Situations Where 2nd Hand Plays High

1. When second hand can see the setting trick(s)

North






♠ J 7 6





♥ K T 9





♦ K Q 7 4





♣ J T 3 



West





East


♠ Q T 8 4 2




♠ A 5 3


♥ J 4 3





♥ 8 6 5 2


♦ 8 6





♦ T 3 2


♣ Q 4 2




♣ A 7 6





South






♠ K 9








♥ A Q 7






♦ A J 9 5
 Opening Lead: S♠ 4

♣ K 9 8 5

East wins the ace and returns the five to South’s King, noticing the fall of West’s Deuce to indicate a five card suit. South crosses to dummy with the King of Diamonds and leads the Jack of Clubs. East rises with the Ace to take the setting tricks in spades. (South had no intention of finessing the Jack of Clubs. He knew that the opponents had the setting tricks in spades and was hoping to steal a club trick from East. South might have the KQ of Clubs and make the same play.) 
2. When declarer is out trying to steal his game fulfilling trick
North






♠ A Q 3





♥ 3 2





♦ A K Q T 9





♣ 8 7 6 



West





East


♠ J T 8 6




♠ 9 7 5


♥ A T 5 4




♥ Q J 9 7


♦ J 3





♦ 8 5 2


♣ J 5 3





♣ A 9 4





South






♠ K 6 2







♥ K 8 6






♦ 7 6 4





♣ K Q T 7
Opening Lead: S♠ J

Dummy’s Queen wins the first trick and declarer leads a small club from dummy at trick two. If ever a man was stealing a 9th trick, this is it! East knows from the lead that South has 3 spade tricks and can see 5 diamond tricks staring him in the face. Unless partner has the Ace-Ten of hearts, there is no defense. If declarer has the Ace of Hearts, he has 9 nine tricks, and the defenders are just playing for practice anyhow. East must rise with the Ace of Clubs and shift to the Queen of Hearts to have any chance of setting this contract. 

3. Keeping an outside entry in partner’s hand when defending No Trump.
North






♠ 7 2





♥ A Q J





♦ J T 9 8 7





♣ A 4 3 



West





East


♠ Q J T 9 8




♠ 6 4 3


♥ 9 8 5 3




♥ T 7 2


♦ K 2





♦ A 3


♣ T 5





♣ J 9 8 7 6





South






♠ A K 5







♥ K 6 4






♦ Q 6 5 4





♣ K Q 2
Opening Lead: S♠ Q

South wins the second spade, leads a heart to dummy, and then a diamond. East must rise with the Ace hoping partner holds either the King or Queen. If East wins the first diamond, he can return his remaining spade, knocking out declarer’s Ace, so that when West wins the second diamond he can run his spades.  If West wins the first diamond and clears spades, East will have no spade to return after winning the second diamond.  Note that if West has the Queen of Diamonds (instead of the King) that East still has to win the Ace at his 1st chance. South might guess to later drop West’s Queen, but even if West is allowed to win the Queen of Diamonds on the 1st round, the defense will only come to 3 tricks. Alas, the correct play in diamonds (ducking the Ace) is the wrong play for the hand. South may hold K65, and West may hold Q42. Now winning the Ace is the defense’s only chance. West must still come to a diamond trick, but needs to win it after his spades are established.

4. To keep your partner from being endplayed when declarer has stripped a hand

 North






♠ 7 6 2





♥ A 4 3





♦ T 5 4 3 2





♣ K 6 



West





East


♠ A Q T 3




♠ J 8 5


♥ J 9 8





♥ K Q T 7 6 5


♦ J 





♦ 6


♣ J 8 7 4 3




♣ Q T 9





South






♠ K 9 4







♥ 2






♦ A K Q 9 8 7





♣ A 5 2

Opening Lead: H♥ 8

South wins the Ace, ruffs a heart, and cashes the Ace of Diamonds. Next he plays King of Clubs, Ace of Clubs, and ruffs a club in dummy. At this point the hand is completely stripped and declarer’s losers can only be in spades. South leads a spade from dummy and if East is asleep, South will insert the nine and West will be endplayed. If East is awake, he will realize that 3 spade tricks will be needed to defeat the contract, so must hope his partner holds the S♠ AQT. East jumps up with the Jack, and South loses 3 spade tricks. 
5. When declarer wants to reach his hand to discard a loser from dummy on a winner from his hand

North






♠ K





♥ 9 7 4 2





♦ 6 2





♣ K J T 7 5 2


West





East


♠ Q J T 4 3 2




♠ 9 7 6 5


♥ 6





♥ A 3


♦ A Q J 8




♦ 7 5 4 3


♣ 9 3





♣ A 6 4





South






♠ A 8







♥ K Q J T 8 5






♦ K T 9





♣ Q 8
Opening Lead: ♠ Q
Dummy wins the King, (marking the Ace with South), and leads a trump. East must be alert to the danger. Declarer can not have more than one club loser. He is also going to lose a trump. To defeat this contract, you are going to need 2 diamond tricks, and one of them is about to go away on the Ace of Spades. East must rise with the Ace of Hearts in order to shift to a diamond, playing partner for D♦ AQ or better. 

6. When declarer can be swindled, without fooling partner

North






♣ T 8 2


West





East


♣ 7 6 5





♣ A J 9
South






♣ K Q 5 4

This could be the trump suit, or more likely, a side suit at no trump. In any case, dummy leads the deuce. Sitting East you must play the Jack! If declarer has the King and partner the Queen, you have lost nothing – and if declarer has the Queen and partner the King, you also have lost nothing. However, if declarer has both the King and Queen, you can count on making a trick with your nine.  Assume you play the Jack and declarer’s King holds. What will he think? He will think you have either the ♣AJ doubleton or singleton ♣J.  In either case, his correct play is low to the eight – he thinks! This play would be equally effective if declarer had a five card suit headed by the ♣KQ. Here is a very similar case:

North






♣ T 8 2


West





East


♣ A 4 3




♣ J 9
South






♣ K Q 7 6 5

Again, when dummy leads the deuce you should play the Jack! Once again you can practically count on making your nine on the way back as declarer will sure play you for a singleton Jack after West wins the Ace. Give South ♣ AQ765 and your partner the King and you will also make your nine the second time the suit is played against a good declarer.  Many of the great plays we have been discussing here won’t work against declarers who don’t know what they are doing. Learn to think like an expert and you can begin to see how to give them chances to go wrong, when the weakest players in the room will make the hand with no difficulty. 

One final expert play:
North






♣ J 8 2   or  


West


♣ T 8 2   

East


♣ A 4 3




♣ Q 9
South






♣ K J 7 6 5   or  






♣ K T 7 6 5

When dummy leads low, East should play the QUEEN! Don’t worry, you’ll make the nine the second time the suit is led, and that will be one more trick that you would have taken had you played it the first time around. Note that all these fancy plays require either the T8 or the J8 to be in dummy. No sense making a spectacular defensive play if declarer has no chance of going wrong later. 

IV. When Declarer Leads Low to Dummy, and 2nd Hand Can’t Win the Trick

1. Nearly always, second hand simply plays low, giving the count signal when appropriate. He should give the count signal whenever declarer leads up to a fairly strong honor combination, particularly when 2nd hand has a number of small cards. 

North






♣ K Q J T 4
In each case it is practically automatic for West to play the

West





underlined card when declarer leads up to this strong suit. 

♣ 8 3
     or
♣ 8 7 5



This is to help partner know when to take the Ace and what 

♣ 9 7 5 3   or
♣ 8 7 5 3 2


distribution of suit is around the table. NOTE: Only the 
South

weaker of the two defending hands should give the count 





♣ 6

signal when declarer leads up to strength in the dummy.

2. (With rare exceptions), second hand does not “force” honors out of the dummy.

North 


Second hand should not play the Queen to force the King





♣ K T 5

out of the dummy. 9 times out of 10, the card that second 


West




hand wanted to force will be played anyway – or if dummy


♣ Q 8 7 6



inserts a low honor, it will be won by partner. If partner can
South


not take the trick, then sacrificing your high card will have




♣ 2


been for nothing.

3. If second hand has two equal honors, and dummy has only one, second hand may “split his honors” to insure taking one trick – but even then it is often better not to split. 

North


If South leads the 3 toward dummy, West must judge 




♣ K T 5

whether or not to “split” by playing the Jack. Splitting 


West




insures at least one trick even if declarer has the Ace. 


♣ Q J 6 2



Alternatively, if you think South’s intention is to play the

South


King, it is better to play low – especially if partner has the 




♣ 3


Ace.  Hopefully, the auction might provide a clue.
North



In this situation, splitting won’t help. Dummy has you 



♠ A K T 4


covered. Play low. Declarer seldom plays the Ten, and if 

West





he does, you have lost nothing. (If you split your honors, 

♠ Q J 6 2




you give the show away. Declarer wins, returns to his hand,
South



and finesses the Ten the next time. But, if declarer knows 
♠ 3
what you have, because of a previous winning finesse – go ahead & split – to make things more inconvenient for him.
North



South leads the 8; you play low, and the 8 holds. Next,



♣ A Q 9 3


when South plays the Ten, cover with the Jack. South 
West



East

knows you hold the Jack, and by covering, you force him to

♣ K J 5 2


♣ 7 6

return to his hand to repeat the finesse. If you play low, the
South



Ten will hold, and declarer will still be in his hand to play 



♣ T 8 4


the suit a third time.

4. When dummy has a long suit headed by AJT, with no side entries, it is usually right for second hand to play high with Qx, Qxx, Kx, or Kxx when the suit is led by declarer – particularly against no trump. 
 North






♣ A J T 3 2


West





East


♣ K 5 4




♣ Q 9 8
South






♣ 7 6

All too often, South leads low to the Ten, losing to the Queen, and later low to the Jack, taking the remaining four tricks. However, if West plays the King the first time, South is held to one trick! The best that South can do is win the Ace and force out the Queen, but now poor South can’t get back to dummy to enjoy his established suit. (Often East will duck the second trick fearing that South started with 3 small). If South ducks the King, hoping West started with KQx (and made the mistake of splitting), he takes no tricks!
Notice that in each of these examples, dummy has been visible, making second hand play easier. When declarer leads low toward the closed hand, second hand tries to make the same play he would have made if he could see the combination in declarer’s hand.
North




If this is a side suit being led from dummy, East plays low because

♣ 8 7 4




for all he knows, declarer started with AKT. However, if dummy 


East


has, for example, A84, East can safely split his honors (the Jack)



♣ Q J 5

to insure one trick. 

South

♣ ???

If second hand plays an honor when dummy has no honor cards, second hand usually holds THREE adjacent honors, not two. (Most experts play the highest equal in this situation to alert partner to their strength.) 

North




If dummy leads clubs, East plays the Queen. West knows that East

♣ 8 7 4




is unlikely to split with two equal honors, (although East may hold



East


♣KQ doubleton), and will assume that he likely holds ♣QJT(x).



♣Q J T 2
South	West	North	East


 1NT	 Pass	 3NT	All Pass








South	West	North	East


 1NT	   P	 3NT	All Pass

















South	West	North	East


 Pass	 Pass	  1D	Pass


 2NT	 Pass	 3NT	All Pass








South	West	North	East


 1NT	   P	 3NT	All Pass





South	West	North	East


 1NT	 Pass	3NT	All Pass


		 














South	West	North	East


 1NT	   P	 3NT	All Pass





South	West	North	East


  1D	 Pass	  2D	 2H


  4D	  4H	  5D	All Pass














South	West	North	East


 1NT	   P	 3NT	All Pass





South	West	North	East


  1H	  1S	  2H	 2S


  4H	All Pass














South	West	North	East


 1NT	   P	 3NT	All Pass




























































































