More on Partnership Captain
Your Partner will be Captain When:

A.   You open or rebid any number of No Trump (whenever it’s natural and non-forcing)
B.  You raise partner’s suit to any level – assuming this is a non-forcing raise
C.  You rebid your own suit at any level – assuming this is a non-forcing bid
D.   You preempt at any level

A:  No Trump Bids
1.  South
North





2.  South
North



      1NT
    ?

North is Captain. 

      2NT
   ? 

North is Captain.

3.  South
North





4.  South
North




      1C

  1H





      1D

  1S


     2NT
   ?

North is Captain.

     1NT
    ?

North is Captain.


5.  South
North





6.  South
North

      2C

 2D





       1D

   1H
     2NT
   ?

North is Captain.

      3NT
    ?

North is Captain.
7.  South
North





8.  South
North


       1D

 2NT





       1C

 3NT

        ?



South is Captain.

         ?



South is Captain.

9.  South
North





10. South
North
       1S

   2D





        1D
  2C

      2NT
    ?

No Captain Yet

       2NT
    ?

No Captain Yet
11. South
North





12. South
North
       1C

 1NT

South is Captain.

        1S
 1NT

No Captain Yet

On examples 9 & 10, South’s rebid of 2NT does not make North the Captain, because South’s bid is forcing. South has not narrowly defined his hand and although his distribution is somewhat limited by his failure to make other calls, he may have significant extra values. On Example 11, there are very few hands that North can hold to bid 1NT. Usually it is a hand with 6-10 pts and 3-3-3-4 distribution (or else he would have bid a 4 card suit – and with 5 clubs he might have raised). On hand 12 however, North’s bid of 1NT should merely be interpreted as an inability to make a 2 over 1 bid. He has no room to describe the almost limitless possibilities his hand may hold if he is weak. Thus, whether or not you play this bid as forcing, there is no Captain (yet). 
B:  Raising Partner’s Suit
1.  South
North





2.  South
North



       1D
    
   1S

North is Captain. 

       1D
   
   1H 

North is Captain.


       2S

    ?





       3H

    ?

3.  South
North





4.  South
North




      1C

  1S





      1C

  1D



      4S

   ?

North is Captain.

      1H

  1S









      3S

   ?

North is Captain.

5.  South
North





6.  South
North




      1C

  1H





      1C

  1D



      1S

  3S



     

      1H

  3C

       ?



South is Captain.

        ?



South is Captain.
7.  South
North





8.  South
North




      1H

  2C





      1S

  2D



      3C

   ?

No Captain Yet

      2H

  3H

       





        

        ?



No Captain Yet

On problems 7 & 8, raising partner’s suit does not make him Captain, as the raise was 100% forcing. On #7, South may have significant extra values. On #8, North is showing a big hand, and suggesting a slam. Further on #8, had North bid 2S, it would be a big hand with probably only 3 spades, but raising opener’s second suit absolutely guarantees a four card raise. 

C:  Raising Your Own Suit

It needs to be noted that raising your own suit at your first opportunity can have a wide range of values. With a good hand, but a poor suit, Opener may not wish to make a jump rebid. Similarly, with a good hand, but no fit for partner, Opener may underbid his values slightly. Therefore, even when either side makes a non-forcing raise of their own suit, partner needs to recognize that there may be extra hidden strength.

1.  South
North





2.  South
North



       1D

  1H





        1D
   1S

       2D

    ?

North is Captain*. 

        3D
    ? 

North is Captain*.


3.  South
North





4.  South
North




      1C

  1H





      1D

  1S



      1S

  3H





      2D

  2S

       ?



South is Captain.

       ?



North is Captain*.



5.  South
North





6.  South
North

      1C

  1D





       1C

  1D
      1S

 1NT
   


      

       1S

 1NT



      2C

   ?

South is Captain.

       3C

   ?

South is Captain*
7.  South
North





8.  South
North


       1D

  1H





       1D

 1H
       1S

  4H





      1NT
 4H



        ?



South is Captain.

         ?



North is Captain.
9.  South
North





10. South
North
       1S

   2D





        1D
  2C

       3S*
    ?

No Captain Yet

        4C*
    ?

South is Captain.
On examples 9 & 10, Opener’s jump raise is forcing, since it followed a 2 over 1 response. On #9, the 3S bid shows a self-sufficient suit and requests North to cue bid his first control.  On #10, since a simple raise to 3C would have been 100% forcing, the jump to 4C must have a special meaning. One reasonable way to play it is 
Ace-asking in Clubs. (This is the way it is played in Wimpy Standard). Another suggestion might be to treat it as you would a jump in your own suit, and request partner to cue bid his cheapest first round control.

“Who is the Captain?” Quiz
In each of the following auctions, circle the Captain, and decide whether or not the final bid should necessarily be Pass, or whether that player might take another call.

1.
South
 West
 North   East


2.
South
 West
 North   East

  1D
   P
   1H
    P



  1D
   P
   1S
     P


  3H
   P   
   4H      P


  
  4S
   P
    ?
  


    ?
3.
South
 West
 North   East


4.
South
 West
 North   East

  1H
   1S
   2S*
     P



   1H
   1S
   2S*
     P

*Heart Limit 

  3H
    P
   4H
     P



   3C
    P
   3H
     P

  Raise or

    ?         

*Heart Limit Raise or Better
   4H
    P
    ?


  Better

5.
South
 West
 North   East


6.
South
 West
 North   East

  1D
   P
   1S
    P



  1D
    P
   1S
    P


  1NT
   P
   2S
    P



  2C
    P
   2S
    P


    ?






  3C
    P        ?


7.
South
 West
 North   East


8.
South
 West
 North   East
 
  2C
   P
   2D
     P



 1C
   P
   1H
     P


 2NT     P
  3NT      P



 2C
   P
   2H
     P


   ?






  ?

9.
South
 West
 North   East


10.
South
 West
 North   East

  1D
   P
   1H
     P



  1D
   P
  1NT      P


  2D
   P
   2H
     P



  2C
   P
   3C
     P


  3C
   P
    ?




  3NT
   P
    ?

11.
South
 West
 North   East


12.
South
 West
 North   East

  1S
   P
   2D
     P



  1H
   P
   1S
     P


  3D
   P
  3NT
     P



  2D
   P 
   2S
     P


   ?






   ?

13.
South
 West
 North   East


14.
South
 West
 North   East
    
  1D
   P
   1S
     P



  1S
   P
  2NT*    P

*    Jacoby

  2S
   P
   3D
     P



  3S**   P
  3N!
     P

** estras

   ?






  4C
   P
   4H
     P

! requests 








   ?




  1st  control
15.
South
 West
 North   East



  1S
   P
   2D
     P



16.
South
 West
 North   East

 2NT
   P
   3S
     P




  1H
   P
   2D
     P


  4C
   P
   4D
     P 



  
  2NT     P
   4H
     P


  4S
   P
    ?





    ?

“Who is the Captain?” – Answers

1. North is the captain. South’s raise to 3H was non-forcing, and South must now Pass.
2. North is the captain. South’s raise to 4S was non-forcing, and North can bid or pass.
3. North is the captain. After North gave a cue bid showing a limit raise or better, South declined the invitation if North had only a limit raise. North’s next bid showed he had better. South must now Pass.

4. South is the captain. North gave a cue bid showing a limit raise or better, and confirmed it was only a limit raise with his 3H rebid. South never limited his hand and continued to game. North must now Pass.
5. North is the captain. South’s rebid of 1NT was non-forcing and South will now Pass.  

6. North is the captain. Both South’s rebid of 2C and North’s rebid of 2S were non-forcing. Note that South’s  bid of 2C  had a wide possible range of values. South finished the description of his hand showing 10 or more minor suit cards, and North is now expected to place the contract by passing, correcting to 3D, or (rarely) bidding 3S. South should respect whatever North chooses at this point. 

7. North is the captain. South’s bid of 2NT showed 22-24 balanced points (or 25-27). If South has the lesser holding, he will respect North’s decision and pass. If he has the stronger holding, he will raise 3NT to 4NT instead of passing to show it. North will again be the captain at that time. 

8. The great majority of the time, North will be the captain. On rare occasions, South might have some extra values with a mild heart fit and take another call. It will either be a heart raise, showing extra values, or a club rebid showing very long clubs and little tolerance for other suits. Note: a 2NT bid over 2H (instead of pass) would show a minimum hand with 6 or 7 clubs, and 4 diamonds. Wimpy’s rule (to be discussed later) says to get out as cheaply as possible before the opponents start doubling. Thus, it will usually be right to pass 2H.

9. North is the captain. South has shown a minimum hand with 6 diamonds and 4 clubs. South will not hold more than a singleton heart (often a void) to take the third call on this misfit. North’s next action will end the auction.  

10. South is the captain. North has shown a non-minimum, (probably 8-10 pts) with a club fit. After 3C, North has described his hand adequately, thus South makes the likely final decision. Once again, the new suit by opener had some hidden extra values. 

11. South is the captain. North has limited his hand (with 3NT), but South might have considerable extra values. South’s 3D raise was forcing, so North was in a position to suggest a final contract, not insist on it. 

12. South is the captain. North has limited his hand, despite the fact that South’s 2D call was non-forcing. Most of the time, South will pass, but he can invite a game from here.

13. North is the captain. 3D is forcing, asking South to evaluate his diamond holding toward a possible spade game.  Remember, you can’t pull an agreed major to a minor contract. South must bid, but North is unlimited. 

14. South is the captain. South has shown extra values with his 3S rebid and North has cooperated toward a possible slam with the 3N asking bid. (It can’t be natural, because you can’t play in 3NT with a 9+ card major suit fit). South next starts a cue bidding sequence with the 4C cue bid (promising first round control). North’s 4H bid promises a heart control, but more importantly, denies a diamond control... With a first or second round diamond control, South should continue toward slam. If not, he will sign off in 4 spades.  

15. North is the captain. North’s 3S bid was forcing, showing exactly 3 spades and suggested a slam. (With 4 or more spades, North would usually start with Jacoby 2NT). South cooperated with a 4C cue bid showing a control, and North showed a diamond control with 4D. South next denied a heart control by bidding 4S.  North is expected to make a further move toward slam with a heart control, and to pass if he does not have either first or second round control of that suit. 

16. South is the captain. North has shown a minimum game forcing hand with 3 card heart support. South is warned that North has few if any extra values beyond what might be expected to make 10 tricks. South should pass without considerable extra values. Note that on both #’s 15 & 16, that South’s 2NT bid was 100% forcing for one round. 
